Quarantine Letters — Two: How Did We Get Here

Or Once in a Lifetime… Letting the Days Go By

Dilan Crain
3 min readApr 30, 2020

How did I end up here in paradise, you asked? Good question. Certainly blessed. Back around about Christmas I had an epiphany that I came to one of nature’s most bio-diverse countries only to get stuck in the city. You know why… bygones now. I decided to find a beach, a house and hopefully some peace in nature and activity and sweat and pain. It’s time.

So I packed the apartment. Put it all storage. Stuffed my backpack with a weeks worth of trunks, T-shirts, laptop and sunscreen. Then hopped a morning bus the next day to Jacó.

“Rent it if you can…” my last words to the building manager as I walked out, feeling at least two years lighter.

When the quarantine hit a few weeks later, I was three beaches away, tanned and tranquil. Not much to do. San José and the Central Valley are where most of the serious cases are. We still don’t have any sick for many towns around here. Gracias a Dios.

One week turned into three. Then five. Now we just wait. Live today.

Do you remember those old black and white Twilight Zone episodes? The ones where everything seems peachy until it just isn’t? Like the astronaut that finds a deserted earth looks normal, but not. Seemingly empty of…

--

--

Dilan Crain

Digital dropout on tour. Observations from a hammock as we journey together.